Welcome to the Official Grafton County Website.

The Grafton County Complex is located on Dartmouth College Highway in North Haverhill, New Hampshire. There are 757.7 contiguous acres of land. Buildings include the Grafton County Courthouse, Grafton County Nursing Home, Grafton County Administrative Building, Grafton County Farm, Grafton County Department of Corrections and the Biomass Plant, which occupies 30 acres. There are 239 acres of Field and Cropland, 28 acres of Natural Area/Floodplain and 426 acres of Commercial Timberland. In addition, the land supports significant wildlife habitat, public recreation, environmental educational and scenic values.

County Government

Counties perform services which work best when designed to meet local needs which are too expensive or too difficult for the towns themselves to provide. County government has an executive branch consisting of three elected County Commissioners who jointly serve as the County’s chief executive, and four elected department heads: the County Attorney, Sheriff, Register of Deeds, and Treasurer. Click Here to view the Grafton County organizational chart. County elections are held every two years during even-numbered years. Commissioners are elected from individual districts, while the other four officials are elected countywide. The legislative branch of county government consists of all State Representatives from the county (27 in Grafton County); this is called the County Legislative Delegation; this Delegation adopts an annual county budget which raises revenues and appropriates funds for county departments and programs.  Grafton County has a budget of $44,221,541 for Fiscal Year 2019 with $26,003,536 to be raised by property taxes. The Delegation elects an Executive Committee of nine members which meets with the Commissioners regularly to review the County’s financial reports. Counties were originally organized to provide regional courts at convenient locations throughout the State so that people would not have to travel to the Portsmouth or Exeter for court business.

Since 1984, the State of New Hampshire has funded a Unified Court System, but most counties maintain courthouses which they rent to the State. The Grafton County Courthouse, located on Dartmouth College Highway in North Haverhill, houses the Grafton County Superior and Circuit Courts.



Click here or on the link below for more information about the Grafton Regional Development Corporation.


Ray Burton 1939-2013

RayBurton The rural North Country lost its favorite son, Ray Burton, age 74, to recurrent kidney cancer on November 12. Ray was an Executive Councilor to the Governor for 35 years and a County Commissioner in District #2 for Grafton County for 23 years! He was a champion for north country people and issues; while Commissioner he helped push forth a new nursing home, renovation of the Administration building, build a state-of-the art Corrections facility for 150 inmates, supported building a wood chip biomass plant to heat all the buildings and thus save over 85,000 gallons of fuel oil, and ran hearings about demolishing the 100 year old jail. He was an ardent supporter of the County employees and would always promote their benefits. His non-partisan approach of helping anyone and everyone with any issue was his trademark and always done with compassion, friendship, and keen knowledge. Opponents ran against him over the years but the voters knew Ray was the only one for them. An icon for our times and never to be replaced, he leaves a legacy that the next Commissioner and Executive Councilor would be wise to follow.

This site is best viewed using Mozilla Firefox. Click here to download.